AVS Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an HD noob and overwhelmed at the amount of knowledge and information being presented here. This is clearly the place to go if you want the right answers!

I live in a rural area about 35 miles from most of the stations I want (zip 43533...I will post a link as soon as I have enough posts to do so). I have only one tree that is even remotely close, and it's 100yds away across the street and not in a position that should interfere at all. That is actually somewhat of a problem though as this is a flat area of NW Ohio, I have no windbreak at all and we can get pretty strong gusts of straight line winds.

I'd like to mount the antenna in the attic if at all possible because of the wind. All of the channels I really want are within 3 degrees, so I'm not worried about a rotor. I'm thinking I will need a directional antenna in this case.

The house is wired with coax...not sure what quality at the moment. Currently two drops in the living room and one in the master bed, all meeting in one spot in the basement. I'm assuming I'll at least want to run good quality coax from the antenna to the basement and have a pre-amp in line somewhere.

I'm trying to keep the cost for antenna and equipment under $150 if possible. The only antennae I've found close to hear are a couple Philips ones sold at Lowe's for about $90. They boast a significant range for UHF...well over the 35 miles I need...but I haven't been able to find any reviews on them to know if they're actually decent ones so I'm a little hesitant to try them.

Any suggestions or advice?

·
Registered
80 Posts
A set up like this