AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie here and have never owned a RPTV ... I want to play my video games on it (mostly PS II) and wanted to get some advice/feeback on the advantages/disadvantages of both types ... 16:9 vs 4:3 ... any help would be great since I am driving myself crazy trying to decide ...

Size 51-53" RPTV HDTV monitor ...

Primary viewing - comcast digital cable and occasional dvd (do not own progressive scan - yet) movies ...

would like to get any brand/models that people use and like ...

thnks

·
Registered
5 Posts
Well mate I had the same problem but really its easy. If gaming is your main thing then 4:3 is the way to go. A 4:3 screen will still do a fairly large 16:9 window but a native 16:9 will leave a tiny 4:3 picture. Most games are in 4:3 anyway, on all platforms so go 4:3.

·
Registered
3,372 Posts
From a gaming standpoint, I don't see any difference between 4:3 and 16:9. Most games are designed for 4:3, but look equally as good stretched to 16:9.

For my, there were three big reasons to go 16:9.

One, movies look much better on a widescreen TV, and it was more important for me to have better looking movies than to have better looking TV.

Two, 16:9 is most likely going to be the futre for TV, and I hope to keep my TV around for a long time.

Three, the latest and greatest technology is going into 16:9 TVs. The few HD 4:3 TV's made are usually afterthouhts based on older technology.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i appreciate the feedback ...

well i guess i am leaning towards a widescreen now ... it would be nice to see gaming in action on some of these sets though ... they should have something set up in store (*hint) ... I will make my way back out today and compare again. i did not realize there was sooo much to consider until i started looking around ,,, current models i am interested in ...

widescreen ...