AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So Im new to this stuff (read I have no idea what i'm doing). I got a big tv, and now I really want my movies and games to sound better. I got a JVC rx-778v http://resources.jvc.com/Resources/00/00/95/LVT0171-001A.pdf and some polk monitor 30 speakers at a garage sale for $30. So can you guys give me some good suggestions to finish out my system. I am trying to keep it budget friendly as possible. I also plan on using monoprice for all the cables and plugs that I will need. Any newbie advice is also appreciated.

·
Registered
6,156 Posts
How many speakers do you have? A complete set would include 5, plus a subwoofer.

·
Registered
7,063 Posts
I would suggest that you get two more Polk Monitor 30 speakers and a CS10 center speaker, plus a PSW505 subwoofer when you can afford it. Amazon has them.

Monoprice $2820 14 gauge speaker wire, which is only $23 for 100 feet, will work nicely.

·
Registered
5,453 Posts
+1 ^

14 gauge "sheathed" wire is nice looking, and for some reason, slightly less expensive on this site than the plain insulated wire.
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10239&cs_id=1023902&p_id=2820&seq=1&format=2

what is you budget to finish out your system ?

do you want a full 5.1 home theater set-up ?

your older JVC receiver can handle Dolby Digital 5.1 with Toslink optical fiber connections between a DVD player and/or a cable or satellite box.....or the optical out from your TV if you are using a TV antenna to receive programming "over-the-air" (using the internal tuner on the TV)