AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. I posted this same thread as a reply to another similar post.

I am stuck! I've been hovering back and forth between these 3 camcorders and I don't know which is the one to buy.

Panasonic HDC-TM90k

Sony HDR-CX160

Canon HF R21 Vixia

They are all around $500. We are having our first child in 2 months and I plan to use it mostly for filming family events and baby stuff. I am totally new to this and have very little idea what I am doing. I've done some research and I've picked these because of price, cmos size, and features.

Frank

·
Registered
165 Posts
It's going to come down to low-light performance. I'm a Sony person as far as these camcorders go but I think the Panny beats it in PQ, the CX160 didn't score very high in HD quality.

Another option is a used CX560 dpending on your budget.....would be superior to all 3.

Image stability and low-light gathering is impressive, just an idea though.

·
Registered
3 Posts
I am stuck with the same problem, deciding among Canon R21, Panasonic TM90k and Sony CX160 and we have a baby on the way
. I tried Sony CX160 and Sony XR160 so far. I first went with Sony CX160. The main problem was that the internal memory. 16GB filled up withing 1 hr recording at the highest quality. So, I though I need a bigger one and got XR160, which has 160GB HDD. I didn't like the HD quality of both these camcorders. Its not up to my expectations. I compared TM90k and CX160 at my local bestbuy a couple of days ago. I felt that TM90k's color was way better on the little screen. I don't know how much the difference will be when viewed on a big screen though. TM90k has a fill-in flash and can take 5.0 MP still photos if that's of any importance. After looking at XR160, I revised my opinion about needing more storage. Since SD cards are becoming cheaper by the day, I think 16GB with a couple of SD cards should serve the purpose well.

·
Registered
3,170 Posts