Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

Let me first start off by saying that this is my first post and I am very new to this. Having said that, I have been kicking the tires on a Panasonic PT-42PHD4-P. I now own a Sony kp-53xbr 4:3 set that claims to accept a 1080i signal (which I am sure I would be looking at the bars top and bottom instead of on the sides if I had a 16:9 set and watched standard cable). I noticed that I can purchase the panni 42 for around 5k and the 50 for around 7k. The B&M's add 2-3k for each one. I am sure if I can talk my wife into 5k for a 42 I can most definately baffle her with my bulls*@$ and get the 50" hdtv panni. But I have ? before I pull the trigger.

1. Comcast cable will be in my area in about a month. They claim that they will be sending some hd signals. I cannot nail a tech down on what the signal will be. Will it be 780 or 1080?

2. When I went looking at the plasmas. The salesman said that we were viewing HDnet over DSS. If this is true it was awesome. He said that they have been promising more HD content for the last year but haven't come through. Which is the better way to go Satelite or Cable?

3. This set will go into a game/family room. My kids will have most of the control of the set. Is there any harm in playing gamecube or playstation2 games?

4. When I built the room I put in a access pipe running to a closet near by. The will be used to house the audio, dvd, ect. The cables will have to be around 16-18'. Can I find componet cables this long.

5. Should I invest in a hd reciever to recieve hd content over the air, and or do I need one for either the satelite or cable.

Sorry to ramble but I am excited about this new plasma technology. Let me says Thanks in advance for any insight that anyone can provide.

Par_Man

·
Registered
1,660 Posts