Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I am beginning construction on my Dedicated Home theater. My finished Room Size will Be 20' x 16' x 8'-6" ceiling. I am completely new to the DLP projectors and my last Projector was an Ekei Powerhouse 1 LCD Projector.

I want to do a 10 foot wide 16:9 screen Approx 140" Diagonal. I want To see what HD DLP projectors will work for this size screen at about 15' - 18' from the Screen. The projector will be hung on the ceiling.

I am trying to stay under $5k for the projector and get the best picture possible.

Also any suggestions on fixed Wall Screens will help too!

Any suggestions will greatly help!

Thanks

Ruben

·
Registered
11,213 Posts
Are you sure you want a 10' wide screen?

That is 56.25 sqft of screen - assume you shoot for an average 12ftL - that requires a 900 lumens lamp with a 1.0 gain screen.

Only the Infocus SP72xx will do that.

Of course you can do a higher gain screen - but you need to be concerned with your viewing/throw angles to see if it will work.

·
Banned
6,051 Posts
The Optoma 79 will place your projector between 15 and 18 feet and it will cost you less than 5K. In regards to gain, I would go with a 1.3 white gain screen assuming you have total light control. The 1.3 gain screen would be for example the Stewart Studiotek 130 or the Dalite

Cinema Vision.

Some people are big fans of 1.0 gain screens and they do work in certain environments, but unless you have weird viewing angles, a 1.3 gain will work very well for you. If you want an even brighter image, then I would go with something like the Vutec Silverstar which although is rated at 6.0 gain, its more in the 3 - 4 neigborhood. It would be more sensitive in the viewing angel, but many people use this screen and really love it

·
Registered
11,213 Posts
Daniel

900/1.3 =692 - so a 1.3gain would only work in H79 brite lamp mode which burns up quicker.