AVS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm new to the forum. I heard great things about the place, and even saw this site mentioned on cnet, which says a lot about how respectable this site is. Anyway, I'm not sure what forum to ask this question in, so I apologize if this is the wrong place.

I'm looking to buy my very first HDTV. Yes, I've been a SD guy my entire life until hopefully now. I don't have the highest budget(which is one of the reasons I've never bought an HDTV), but now I have enough money. I've narrowed my choices down to two TVs. One is a plasma and one is an LED.

I read a lot about the differences between both these two specific TVs and Plasma vs LED generally. But being that I've never used an HDTV before, I tend to want to ask people who have all the experience. I can read as much as I want, but until I get my own experience, I'll be making the opinion of a novice.

Anyway, I play a lot of video games, watch a lot of sports, and movies. That is pretty much what I use my TV for.

The two TVs I narrowed down to were:

1. Panasonic TC-P50G25

2. Sony Bravia 52NX800

I would only be paying about $1,200 for the second one. I tried to post URLs to the TVs so you could see them, but it would not let me. But I'm sure you guys know these TVs already this this is a really big community that knows a lot.

Thanks for any help you can throw my way.

·
Registered
2,155 Posts
Why not 60" LG 60pk250/550. Both should be in your price range. Or one of the 58" Samsungs. I would go big since none of the sets currently out there are perfect and you're just going to end up getting a larger, better set for less money a few years down the road rate things are going.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·