AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone, this is one of my first posts so please forgive me in advance if I am leaving out any important info.
The story: Refinishing my basement and want to put in a projector & screen with a 5.1 setup, however due to the setup of the room it is impossible to put anything but angled in-ceiling speakers. I have went to 2 different audio stores near my Mississauga Ont home, and received 2 different quotes on different speaker systems. Below are the options I am presented with. I am still learning about speakers etc, however I am not sure if some of the features are just 'fluff' to justify an expensive price point so I need to know what the better option is :)

Option 1:
IN CEILING 15 DEGREE ANGLED SPEAKERS:
Angstrom AV-6.15 LCRS: http://www.angstromloudspeakers.com/detail.php?id=1597&top_cat_id=56&sub_cat_id=149

Speakers will be enclosed in Angstrom PDA-8C Acoustic domes with pre-construct brackets (picture below as I do not have a link)

SUBWOOFER:
DefTech Supercube 2000: http://www.bestbuy.ca/en-CA/product/definitivetechnology-definitive-technology-supercube-2000-7-5-650-watt-subwoofer-piano-black-dt-supercube2000/10275542.aspx?cmp=pla-home_audio__speakers

Option 2
IN CEILING 30 DEGREE ANGLED SPEAKERS:
Paradigm H65A: http://www.paradigm.com/products-current/type=inceiling/model=ci-home-h65-a/page=overview

Speakers will be enclosed in Dynabox: http://www.dynamat.com/architectural-home/architectural-home-dynabox/

SUBWOOFER:
Paradigm DSP 3200: http://www.paradigm.com/products-current/type=subwoofer/model=dsp-3200/page=overview