Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to HT, and am ordering my Z3 in a couple days...

Going to have a 92 in screen (maybe 96, but I want to go 92 for wall size), from a 12 ft throw (92 is the min).

In the meantime, I just mounted my shelf (basement office, so ceiling mount wasn't really an option), but my power plug will be about 9 ft away using runners to get it there cleanly.

Can anyone suggest a good place to get a 9ft power cord replacement? or is it a "standard" type cord I can buy anywhere? I'd like to order the longer power cord ahead of time, so it's here with my component and dvi-hdmi cables.

Many thanks!

·
Registered
29 Posts
I ran into a problem similar to this. I have a Z2 ceiling mounted and cables running along the ceiling. I couldn't easily hide the cables due to 100+ year old plaster ceilings that I didn't want coming down. I ran cables along the ceiling and concealed them with some trim I made. Problem was, the power cord was only 6ft it it was 8 ft to my back wall. I tried an extension cord, but the end of the extension cord I had increased the space I needed to hide with trim. Skinny cables are one thing, an extension cord end is another.

I did a lot of searching, mostly only found replacement 6ft cords, but finally found this great company that sells just about every variation of power cords in various lengths, and they had a 10ft length that was exactly what I needed.

Here's their website:

http://www.digikey.com/

Their site's a little weird to navigate, you have to look up products in PDF catalogs, then punch in item numbers.

Here's a shortcut to their AC Line cords catalog:

http://dkc3.digikey.com/PDF/T052/0896.pdf

I used catalog item #Q140-ND.

Hope that helps.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you so much !! I'll look and order, 10ft would be perfect. I'll check to make sure the part number is ok.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Quote: