AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I could use some advice putting together a simple sound system for playing music, mostly bass-heavy electronic, in a medium size living room. Home theater/surround sound concerns are not important to me.

I'm in Italy, and the selection and prices on Amazon.it aren't as good as Amazon.com.

Budget: 800 euros or so. I'd like a good sub-woofer, 2 large speakers with good clarity and power, and a quality budget amp/receiver.

I'm a big Klipsch fan, and am thinking about the 10-inch Klipsch sub or this Yamaha http://www.amazon.it/Yamaha-NS-SW20...TF8&qid=1429218520&sr=8-23&keywords=subwoofer.

I am a noob confused about wattage. Receivers seem to have a total wattage and a wattage output that is less than the total. How does this relate to the wattage of the speakers? I want this system to shake the walls, so keep maximum wattage in mind. This receiver seems to be a good deal, is it more than I need? http://www.amazon.it/DENON-AVRX1100...&ie=UTF8&qid=1429225201&sr=1-4&keywords=denon or this one http://www.amazon.it/Yamaha-RX-V377-Sintoamplificatore-AV-Nero/dp/B00IRZSOQ2/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1429224725&sr=1-1&keywords=AV+receiver

I would rather get 2 really good components, either sub and speakers or sub and receiver, and skimp on the third, which I can upgrade later, than go midrange across the board.

Please help!

·
The Village Idiot
9,626 Posts
Since I don't know what is available to you I would simply suggest this: instead of getting some tower speakers scale back a bit and look for some bookshelf speakers and spend a bit more on a sub. There are lots of subs that will outdo that Klipsch sub - since you like Klipsch look at their bookshelf speakers. They can play very loud without needing gobs of power so most any receiver you buy should be able to drive them to very high peaks. Get a sub that can keep up with them.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3