AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally ready to start equiping our new home theatre. We are pre-wired in our new home for an overhead projector with all wires running to a homerun area. We need everything. The throw distance is approx. 12 feet and the area for the screen is 15 feet wide. We can darken completely if needed.

I suppose the first thing to do is decide which projector to buy and then match up the balance of the equipment to compliment that.

I am not a techie so I need help with all of this. Given my room what projectors qualify? I have read this board and see a lot of info. but not sure how best to start the sorting process. Any help here would be appreciated.

Thanks Mike

·
Premium Member
1,406 Posts
Hi, Mike!

Many projectors could potentially fit your room, depending on what sized screen you are actually look for. As always, however, the first place to start is your budget. It's possible to build a system for perhaps $5K at the low end, up to hundreds of thousands of dollars at the other end of the scale. If we can at least get an order of magnitude, that'll help us to point you in the right direction!

Cheers!

MarkF

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow, considering I need all equipment, I would say somewhere between 10-15,000. Obviously looking for the best for the least. Mike

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekimkci
Wow, considering I need all equipment, I would say somewhere between 10-15,000. Obviously looking for the best for the least. Mike
Why not try starting with a used CRT - get over the initial setup shock and maybe save yourself thousands in bulbs and warranty issues of DLP/LCD projectors.

·
Premium Member
26,161 Posts