Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm a general newbie to the HD world. I've been doing a lot of reading for the past couple of months in preparation for the big step. Finally, in November, I moved to a new house, and bought a new HDTV, subscribed to DirecTV, bought a(n) HD receiver and an OTA antenna (Terk TV-42), and other things, but they're not related to this topic.

The HD received I got is the Samsung TS-160. I bought it because of the fact it can display HD signals in HD through component and 480i through s-video and composite. Unfortunately, when I signed up for DirecTV, I didn't plan on going HD right away, so I'm stuck with the plain round dish. This is getting HBO-HD for me, but not HD.Net nor Showtime. I guess I'll call them up and see if I can get an oval dish installed soon.

Anyway, just wanted to give you guys some background... onto my problems:

I installed the Terk last night, and am receiving absolutely zero digital channels. I am now reading that this wasn't a very smart purchase. The reason I opted for the Terk was I would prefer to not use a roof antenna for two reasons: (a) there's one up there already, from the previous home owners, and the cables from it are cut on the outside. I only see the cable hanging from the antenna, I don't see the other half sticking out from the house. (b) I am new to this whole home-owner thing, and don't have a clue how to bring a cable through the roof into my attic. The Terk gave me the ability to use an outdoor antenna without having to bring any additional cables through the roof.

I am now ready to get an indoor antenna, like the Silver Sensor, and place it up in my attic.

Is this my best option? Or should I look into a larger antenna for my attic? My pockets can only go about another $100 or so, tops, so be gentle.