AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just ordered a pair of polk Monitor 70's and am looking for a receiver to match it with. i'm probably going to stick with a 2.0 setup for a bit before adding a center channel (the CS2 from what i've been reading) or even a powered sub later. they're mainly going to be in a 12x12 room for movies/music (hooked up to a tv/boxee box for video and a laptop/ipod for music) and occasionally a 25x15 living room during smaller house parties for music. what would you suggest for a receiver in the $400ish range or less?

also, these questions may be for another subforum and i'll continue googling for answers but hopefully someone can briefly help with these as well...

speaker wire suggestions? banana plugs? benefits from adding a center channel/powered sub?

as you can probably tell this is my first time investing in home audio gear... thanks for the help!

·
Banned
2,914 Posts
Speaker wire...

Get some lamp cord from your local hardware store in 12 or 14ga. (as in yes, lamp cord. The same stuff plugging the receiver and all your lamps into the wall)

Banana plugs...

Waste of money unless you plan on moving this thing all over the room all the time.

Center channel...

Directed voices and centralized action is why you get one.

Subwoofer...

Save your pennies. The 70 is already a stout speaker, so a "beginner" subwoofer won't do much for you. I'd shoot strait to $300+(anything under that won't really do anything the 70's aren't).

As far as receiver, we need to know what you plan to use/hook up to it...

Wii?

VCR?

Networking(pandora/slacker/itunes)?

Ipod?

BD?

DVD?

Victrola?

Magnavox Odyssey?

RCA CED?

Laserdisc?

HD cable/sat?

HTPC?

Need/care about 3D? (if this comes "off the table", you can look for used receivers as far back as 2008...and yes we can help with that)

Need/care about 2nd zone?

Need/care about macro remote?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·