AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am trying to find a TV for my bedroom but it will also be hooked up to my xbox360 and to an HD TV receiver from UVerse(not installed yet)

This is my first time buying a flat screen TV so I am trying to educate myself before I make the purchase. Right now I have a 37" CRT that is about 4 feet deep.

So far for my budget I have found this 3 but from what I have read the Plasma Samsung does not play nice with gaming.

These are the 3 that I have found for my budget (anything under $600):

Panasonic - VIERA 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
Model: TC-P42C2 | Price: $549.99

Samsung - 42" Class / 720p / 600Hz / Plasma HDTV
Model: PN42C450B1D | Price: $499.99

Samsung - 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV
Model: LN40C500 | Price: $579.99

Viewing distance is going to be around 7-8 feet.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much.

·
Registered
9,590 Posts
Samsung's c450 Plasma is the best overall low price TV this year. After owning several expensive sets from several brands and constantly picking them apart and dealing with massive defects (Panasonic rising blacks, won't buy anything from them until they fix it) I went cheap, a 50c450 and I haven't picked it apart and have been pretty much content with the quality of the TV. Of course I want to go bigger, but I learned a valuable lesson, spend less and you won't nitpick it as much.

With the 42c450 you will get decent blacks, great motion, decent IR resistance, low lag in game mode, and ok lag outside of game mode.

·
Registered
Display: TCL 65R617, AVR: Denon X2300W, Source: PS4 Pro, Fronts: Infinity Primus 250
3,018 Posts