AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys i know a little bit about high end storage stuff but i'm FAR from an expert. So excuse me if i say something stupid. After the whole WHS Fiasco i have decided to build a new storage server. Not sure what type of setup (OS i will be running yet). It might involve ESXi, FreeBSD, Linux, ect... So i need something that is really compatible. Anyways this is the case i've selected:

http://www.ipcdirect.net/servlet/Detail?no=202

I've been googling around the past few days trying to figure things out. Previously i didn't know what a miniSAS was. Anyways of course it would be NICE to have a card that would

service all those drives but i sure can't afford a card like this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16816151037

I think i have decided to get two of these cards:
http://www.scsi4me.com/ibm-serveraid...ontroller.html

OK that would service 16 drives or 4 of the 5 miniSAS connectors on the backplane of the case. I will have 6 sata ports on my motherboard. Is there anyway to convert 4 of my sata connectors on my motherboard to the 5th miniSAS connector on the Motherboard? I would like two use the other two SATA connectors on the motherboard for a Raid-1 setup for whatever OS i decide to use.

I learned a lot from this post:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1149005

In the post he use an expander and i'm not quite sure why. Not sure i understand 100% the concepts of an expander but i'm assuming it lets you split the 4 lanes off in one connector into more lanes but you will get slightly less bandwidth. Course the expander itself cost an extra $200 so id rather just use the sata connectors on my board if i could. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks,

Ncage

·
Registered
36 Posts