AVS Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to decide between these two. Are they in the same league? I'll be using this for 70% movies/30% music in a 12'x15' family room that opens to kitchen and living room.

Thanks for any advice you may have!

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I really don't have a preference as far as the look goes - neither one is particularly good looking IMO. My main concern is performance.

One advantage I can see with the ED is having a warranty which the used SVS won't have. But if the performance of the SVS is significantly better, I'd be willing to go that route.

·
Registered
19,755 Posts
I know the SVS has great performance as I used to own the 16-46cs+ subs. I now own sonosubs with the eD 18 inch driver and it is great but I have no experience with their own subs and 12 inch drivers. I don't think you can go wrong. The cylinder will be much easier to move around. The box can act as an end table. The cylinder is tuned to 20 hz but can be lowered. What is the tune on the eD? Are you looking for deep bass extension over punch or the other way around.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Here's the specs from eD's site:

Room Tuning : 20Hz FR - (18-100Hz +/-3dB)

In Room Avg SPL : 116.66 dB (10-100Hz Max Output Avg)

And from SVS's:

User variable tuning: 20Hz (stock) 16 and 12hz

Response: +/- 3dB 20-100hz (20hz config)

The second question is hard for me to answer since I doubt I've really experienced deep bass extension or punch. I currently have a BIC H-100 and I'm sure either the eD or the SVS would provide a significant improvement in both areas.

·
Registered
19,755 Posts
I think the eD will be a little more powerful, 1-3 db's, according to the specs. I have 4 of the 18's and I am close to 140db's. truly impressive. Both will be a considerable upgrade.

·
Registered
1,971 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcclja /forum/post/14329586