AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been in active forum member for years but have stayed mostly in the speakers and subwoofers section. I have helped and been helped hundreds of times on this forum. I am looking to lean on the dedicated theater folks this time as I have no experience in this field. I have built many speakers and gone through many different speaker and subwoofer designs. Problem is my living room is no longer suitable as the media room the level of the sound system. I am now looking at using half of my basement to create a small theater room. I have been reading kind of posts on this portion of the forum to get ideas for a few books to start reading. I have some ideas on how to build my walls and ceiling for maximum soundproofing. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Room is roughly 14 x 12.5 x 8' tall. I do have a window on one of the exterior walls that measures roughly 70" x 40". My two exterior walls are concrete for about 4 feet and then drywall with a 8" or 4" shelf on top of the foundation corcrete. The other wall on the stairwell is stud and gyp they've just on both sides.

My new wall I planned on doing with methods I've read in some of the books. Probably staggered 2 x 4 stud with resilient clips, mass loaded vinyl and dual 5/8 Gyp with gg between. Also looking at plug to temporarily block the window from transmitting sound.

I am on a pretty tight budget. So anywhere I can save money would be appreciated. I can also attach pictures if needed.

Also looking to add a 100 a sub panel for power and basic lighting with dimmers.

Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Here is a rough sketch of the room. Still haven't picked orientation.

I will post pics too. It's a tough room to capture with photos because of all the kids toys.

·
Premium Member
848 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

This will be the entrance

·
Premium Member
848 Posts