AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

So I have been researching a ton on a DIY Sub build for my HT. I am 80% movies, 20% other.

The room is dedicated DD+GG+Clips. rough dimensions 19' long, 15' wide, 8.6' H at soffits all the way around.

I have a Dayton UM15-22 woofer and Xli-1500 with mini-dsp. Denon x4500h avr.

I am handy (doing the room build myself) but I am just learning sub box building in real time.

I want the sub to deliver strong low end but I dont need to break everything in the house. BTW the room is on a concrete slab. Also I plan on using MDF and Plywood for the second front plate. I have been studying the devastator, marty etc..

I have been playing with WinISD and subbox.pro.

I am not sure what I should tune the box at, too many variables. Im looking for a safe number for my first box. I can always build another in the future. I was just going to do a front facing slot with the woofer. I can go upto 42" long x 28" tall x 24 D. It will be in the front of the room under my AT screen 12' from MLP.

Any advice is welcome.

·
Registered
53 Posts
I thought I would have the same listening habits as you. I ended up going with a mini Marty because I wanted to focus on the low end. I went with the 18" version of the one you have. I like it a lot but I wish I would have known more about the devastator at the time, I can definitely tell it lacks in the mid bass and I find myself listening to more music than I thought I would. Not super familiar with how well that 15" pairs with any of the devastator designs, but if any fit your constraints I'd pick that or marty variant.

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
The condensed answer is:
20hz gets you like 90% of movie frequency coverage.
15hz gets you like 95%, 25-30hz gets you 80-85%
1-15hz is the last 1%, and will require a 1%er budget

Plan accordingly...