AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Just got a brand new house (i.e. house is being built) and the builder is giving us the option to prewire 5.1 or 7.1 speakers in the ceiling. I have very little knowledge about surround sound systems and wanted to get your opinions.

Here is the setup of our living room. As you can see, it's pretty open and the sofa will be against the wall.

Would it be a bad idea to go with a 7.1 setup since the speakers won't be a couple feet behind the sofa?

I also read that it's not a good idea to put the front speakers in the ceiling, so is getting a prewire installed a bad idea all together? Can someone suggest a good alternative that's easy to install/setup if I choose not to do the prewire upgrade?

Thanks!

· Registered
31,905 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartyMcFry /forum/post/18120535

Would it be a bad idea to go with a 7.1 setup since the speakers won't be a couple feet behind the sofa?

With the couch against the back wall, I would do a 5.1-speaker set-up, since you'd get no meaningful separation between the side and rear speakers of a 7.1 layout. If you're going to do in-ceiling surrounds, I would spread them out as far apart as symmetrically possible (will make it sound like they're high up on the side wall rather than overhead).
Quote:
I also read that it's not a good idea to put the front speakers in the ceiling, so is getting a prewire installed a bad idea all together?

Ideally, all three front speakers should be at ear height. Can you pre-wire for in-ceiling surrounds and in-wall fronts?

· Registered
525 Posts