AVS Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks to all that can help. I have limited to no a/v knowledge. Just purchased a newly constructed home that was "supposedly" wired for whole home entertainment. Honestly, our first order of business is wiring ceiling speakers and two outdoor speakers. My family is not wanting "perfection", we just like background music while cooling or working. Anyhow,...so I pulled a wall plate off outside on the porch and found a red and black wire inside a blue sheath....what I would call one pair of common speaker wire. Hooked up a tone chaser and went to the a/v closet.....couldn't find any tone. After reading here...I noticed inside the doorway leading to this porch is a blank wall plate. Took it off and found three "pair" of these speaker wires and a cat 5 wire. I know two of the pair of speaker wires go to the left and right speakers outside. What am I left with here? My plan was just to run the outdoor speakers with sonos connect amps...actually I was going to set each room the same. Is the left over speaker wire for powering an amplifier and the cat5 for signals? I really am unclear how thus was designed or if it can be used as I had planned.

Many thanks in advance

·
Registered
10,866 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by d1saint  /t/1520684/new-house-wiring-not-making-sense-complete-newbie#post_24431218