Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
523 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings.

I have been lurking for a few weeks and this is my first post. This forum is truly a great resource. Thanks to all who contribute.

I am relatively new to home theater. I have been using an Infocus X1 DLP projector for about 9 months. A few months ago I became aware of CRT projectors and their value in home theater and started doing research. Immediately I decided that CRT was for me.

Three days ago I purchased my first CRT pj, a Sony VPH-1031Q, and have been slowly learing how to set it up. After a few hours I obtained an image that was somewhat watchable but I know that I have a long way to go before I reach this projector's potential.

Removing the lens block I found that the tubes have very little wear on them. I can only faintly see a shaded rectangle on the blue CRT, so it appears that my $100 was well spent.

Included in the sale of this projector was a remote controller VPR-722S and at a connecting cable that must be at least 100 feet long.

While initially testing this projector I have found a problem that I cannot yet eliminate. There is a horizontal line visible in the center of the projected image. It is very thin, perhaps only one scan line, and alternates between red, green and blue in color depending on the scene. I have tried sending the following signals and the line is always present:

-DVD Composite video into Video In on the projector.

-DVD Composite video into Line In 1 and Line In 2 on the remote controler.

-DVD S-video into Line 2 on the remote controller.

I don't currently have the means to test the RGB inputs. I know my source not to be the problem. In fact, I have tried 2 different DVD players.

None of the convergence controls seem to affect this line.

Does anyone know what might be causing this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.