AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all:

after much great advice and hand-holding, I upgraded my old Athlon 3200 system today, getting a GM-Ma78 mobo with a Phenon X2 550 and 2 gigs of RAM. I kept my two HDD's, a WD 300 main and Maxtor 250 secondary. They were arranged for RAID 1 I think.

So I'm a total newbie on the building side of things. I put in the mobo and the cpu, hooked up my HDD's, and turned it on (hoping maybe it would just "magically work).

Instead, I get quick bios info, then it goes to the "Windows didn't exit normally" black and white screen.

I presume this means I have to reload my OS? I have MCE 2k5 on the primary HDD, but have the disks if I need to wipe and re-load, but to confess, I'm clueless on what to do next. I tried putting disc 1 in the drive, but it doesn't seem to be loading or starting anything, how should I get this baby up and running again?

Thanx again for any input,

Joel

Confused in Carlsbad.

·
Registered
914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanx CF, I finally got it to reboot from the disc, but I tried to take a shortcut and do a repair instead of fresh install. It asked for a third party raid driver, but I'm not sure I have that, so I ignored and started using the standard setup again. After the initial windows setup, it said it didn't find the HDD's installed (although it listed them in the bios on startup).

Any suggestions?

·
Registered
914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Windows setup is apparently not recognizing my HDD's, they're SATA cofigured, is there a driver or utility I should use to have widows see them? As I said earlier, both HDD's show up in the bios, and then it runs through the peripherals/IRQ info, but upon trying to load windows, I get looped into "Windows did not find any HDD's installed on your computer" message. argh.

·
Registered
914 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·