AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just given an HP Presario CQ62 notebook with windows 7 premium home 64 bit OS. We only have OTA TV and I was looking for advice on setting this notebook up to record and watch OTA tv on my LCD tv.

I am new to this and my intial thought was to get a USB tuner and a 500GB external HD. The notebook does have an HDMI port and WMC.

Is it this simple or am I being totally ignorant? I do realize I will need some way to control WMC from the couch. I do have a Harmony one remote if that helps.

I appreciate your expert input!!

·
Registered
1,650 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by brywisco /forum/post/19569655

I should add that this notebook has an Intel Celeron 900 2.2 GHz processor and 2GB RAM which I fear may be an issue with my plan.

Get a USB tuner and a Media Center remote.

I have this Kworld Tuner .

Its inexpensive and simply works.

Same seller (newegg) also has lots of choices for Media Center Remotes. They all come with a USB receiver.

Both together should run you about $50.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks...those are the what I am thinking of hardware-wise. I am still concerned about the capabilites of the processor and hope someone more knowledgeable than I can chime in on that aspect.

·
Registered
764 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by brywisco /forum/post/19570081

Thanks...those are the what I am thinking of hardware-wise. I am still concerned about the capabilites of the processor and hope someone more knowledgeable than I can chime in on that aspect.

What GPU does the notebook have?

BT

·
Registered
7,909 Posts