AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got setup with D* yesterday and was puzzled on the minimal improvement of HD. I was using ESPN HD to compare the picture, then I started flipping to Discovery and there was a big difference. Then when the ball game came on I could see the difference.

I'm new to all this but after reading some posts here I guess ESPN HD is not 100% HD because:

1) Only the event is HD not the commercials or sportscenter shows etc.?

2) D* compresses and dilutes the quality?

3) Maybe I don't have optimal settings?

I have a Magnavox 51MP392H, I know it's a cheap end but it's what I got. I only have the composite video input for HD. I has 1080i and 480p capability thorugh CV and I have a H10 receiver. Anyone have any recommendations on the optimal settings for the TV and receiver? Right now I have the receiver on 1080i Full and the TV on Auto picture?

Thanks

·
Registered
381 Posts
I'm not following you. You saw a big difference between HD and SD, then you complain that's it's minimal.

Composite isn't HD.

Very few channels are all HD (HDNet, UHD, Discovery HD). The rest are only HD when the programs they're showing are produced in HD. ESPN's HD is knockout good, if you can't tell the difference (try switching between 206 and 73) then it's either set up wrong, or it's not HD in the first place. You can tell on 73 by the bars on the sides that say ESPN HD. That means it's not HD. Heh, I just realized how backwards that is for somebody who's unfamiliar with it. The bars are there to fill the space for NON-HD stuff.

Don't worry about the compression stuff, ESPN HD looks like HD. You can't miss the difference from SD.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info.