AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question on how I should wire up my new Home Theater package.

My setup is:

Samsung LN46A6501F

Yamaha RX-663

HD DVR directv

PS3

Klipsch SL5 w/ 10"Sub

My question is in reference on how to connect all these the best way using HDMI connections.

What I would like to be able to do is to run the HDMI cables from the HD DVR, and the PS3 into the a/v receiver. Then just run one HDMI cable to the TV.

I want to be able to allow my wife to watch tv without the receiver having to be on, but then when I get home I can turn on the receiver and have it my way.

I have read a few threads on adding optical cables but I am still kinda new to the HDMI stuff.

Any help is greatly helpful.

Also if I left something out, feel free to let me know and I can get you the info.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Would it work if I set it up like this?

HD DVR via HDMI to TV

PS3 via HDMI to TV

Then just run an Optical or Coaxial cable from the DTV and PS3 to the AVR?

Am I in the wrong section? If so please direct me in the correct way.

·
Registered
8,987 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kezell /forum/post/14237733

Would it work if I set it up like this?

HD DVR via HDMI to TV

PS3 via HDMI to TV

Then just run an Optical or Coaxial cable from the DTV and PS3 to the AVR?

That won't work. Most TVs downmix the optical output to stereo for audio from external components. You only get 5.1 through that output from the TV's internal tuner.

For the cable box, your best bet is to go HDMI to the TV and optical audio to the receiver. The TV would get audio over HDMI regardless of whether the AVR is turned on. This will work for most cable boxes. However, some of them use the HDMI handshake to control the audio sent out the optical port to the receiver. In that case, the optical output would get downmixed to stereo because that's all the TV can handle.