AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I recently made the change from a surround sound system to a 2-channel system.
I invested in a new pair of speakers.....Focals, and an 80W NAD int amp.
I'm still rather new to all this and had some help hooking up my components.
I guess it could be described as a hybrid as I still have my 7.1 receiver, but when it comes to music, everything goes through the NAD.

My question is, while I love the sound of my system, it seems like 'what I hear is what I get', in the sense that the only corrections I can make are the bass/treble/balance controls on the NAD?
I'm really missing a Loudness button, or anything else to give me a little 'oomph'.
I suppose that's the limitation of a 2-channel system? Are there any other options??

Dan

·
Registered
16,705 Posts
A loudness button is boosted treble and bass. If you have separate bass and treble controls, can't you turn them up to do the same?

·
Banned
16,231 Posts
Maybe add an equalizer to your setup if you don't like what the bass/treble alone do. Or find 2ch electronics that incorporate an equal loudness contour if that's what you really want. Why did you choose the NAD piece?

·
Registered
7,063 Posts
Hey all,
I recently made the change from a surround sound system to a 2-channel system.
I invested in a new pair of speakers.....Focals, and an 80W NAD int amp.
I'm still rather new to all this and had some help hooking up my components.
I guess it could be described as a hybrid as I still have my 7.1 receiver, but when it comes to music, everything goes through the NAD.

My question is, while I love the sound of my system, it seems like 'what I hear is what I get', in the sense that the only corrections I can make are the bass/treble/balance controls on the NAD?
I'm really missing a Loudness button, or anything else to give me a little 'oomph'.
I suppose that's the limitation of a 2-channel system? Are there any other options??

Dan