AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to home audio and could use some advice for a home setup (room is like 12*15), looking to go kind of low-midrange quality, and was orginally thinking go for a soundbar+subwoofer for cost and simplicity.

I plan to get an AVR, but will that affect my sound plan? All the good soundbar reviews I find are for powered or for passive ones much more expensive than I'm looking to spend on the audio. ($250-400, but not a hard range if you have a good suggestion).

Given already having an AVR, my price range, and being ok with 2.1/3.1 audio (I'm doubting I can get quality surround in my price range), should I still go with a soundbar?

If so, can you recommend a good one?

If instead I went seprate speakers, do I need 2 or 3? I'm a little unclear how the center interacts with L and R when not surround.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Hey there,

I too am new to soundbars, but the beauty of a soundbar system is that you don't need any other equipment such as a receiver as everything is built in the soundbar it's self. I'm not sure how you would set up individual speakers as the soundbars also have built in software to process the audio and basically mixes it for the built in speakers.

If you do a little reading on this site you will find tons of reviews of the most popular budget soundbars around. A few off the top of my head that get good reviews are the JVC BA-1, Sony CT 100/150/350, Vizio 210...there are a lot available and all fall well within your price range. As far as quality sound that's really a personal thing, however you can get very good audio from these budget bars...but it's safe to assume they do not perform like top of the line Yamaha's.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was originally thinking to buy the receiver to handle multiple video inputs, not just for sound...though my TV does have enough inputs built in I could possibly forgo it...