AVS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in the planning stages of possibly building our new home in the near future, and a total home automation/integration system has interested me for the last year or so. I am very new to this stuff, and will probably look to contracting the work out, but I may do it on my own to cut costs, and have a pro do the initial set-up.

First off, what are some good books for a newbie to read with as much info as possible in relation to automation/integration?

What I'm looking to do is, well, pretty much everything. Lights, HVAC, A/V, security, internet, etc. I would like to keep it to as few systems as possible, if not just one, for controlling everything. What are some suggestions?

I've just looked over the Kaleidescape site for the A/V part, but that leaves out, as far as I could see, some sort of power source for the speakers. Unless the system has enough power to support all of the zones I would want.

For security, we are using ADT currently, so I wonder, if we stay with them, what we could use with their system.

As for the zones we would have, there would be probably around 16-20. My family loves their music and movies, so the more places they can have access to it, the better. I guess this would go back to the Kaleidescape. I would need audio in all zones, and video in just about every zone except bathrooms(6), dining room, and mud/laundry room.

I may only be scratching the surface, so and tips in the right direction would be great.

Thanks!

·
Registered
5,313 Posts
For pro-installed systems that are simple, Crestron/AMX/Control4 are the big dogs on the block. There's also Convergent Living, AnthonyZ here is a pro who installs that, but I don't know nuthin there.