AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

Im just starting out into this fun little realm of HTPC's and working with linux. Im reading thru the forums at the moment, but when i say starting out, i only got ubuntu 9.04 installed this morning. Ill leave the specs of my htpc here, and if anyone has some advise or hints on what i should do with it, feel free to post.

Athlon64x2 4200+

2Gig DDR2-800

Foxconn K8m890m2ma-rs2h

200Gb Internal HDD

640Gb External HDD(have a second machine i take to lans, just easier for transfers)

Geforce 7600gs with DVI out,(also have a 8800gts, but seemed over kill, correct me if im wrong)

Spund for the moment is thru the onboard sound card. anyone recommend a good budget one, PCI or PCI-Ex1, as i have a one of each slot free.

Cheers for now

Lynx

·
Registered
1,515 Posts
The motherboard (while not bad) is not what I would chose for a HTPC and you would really want a 8x or 9x series Nvidia GPU.

Coincidentally I'm just about to publish on my web site later today an in-depth article about building a Linux HTPC, it just needs a few finishing touches. I'll announce it here once it's published.

Maybe it could help you too.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
hey, the actual choice for components came down to it being my spare comp after i built my new intel quad. Though as i said in the OP, i have a 8800gts sitting spare.

EDIT: Bookmarked your website, so ill be keeping an eager eye out for your article

·
Registered
1,591 Posts
@AMD_Lynx

I guess the real question is what do you plan on doing with your HTPC (recording, dvd burning, transcoding, etc). What types of files will you be playing back (HD, SD, x264, etc.). It's hard to recommend anything without knowing what you are going ot do with it. Depending on what you are decoding you don't need the 8800 if you had other plans for it, but it would help with VDPAU.

@tux