AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was thinking of building a HTPC but was wondering if the type of system I am imagining is possible. I used to own a retail computer store that built clones so I am an expert with PCs, but know little about HTPC. I presently own a Harmon DVD50 progressive scan DVD player using component inputs into a Panasonic TH-AE100. I am looking for the following in a HTPC:

1. Ease of use - Basically, I want to assemble a rack mount box that will go in my AV rack and act just like a piece of AV equipment. Assuming the software is stable I imagine one could setup all the various apps to launch at startup and with a few scripts, get the PC to basically autoplay a DVD or CD when inserted without constanty interacting with the GUI. Is this unrealistic?

2. High quality sound - I am looking for a sound card that has a digital audio output and will provide clean sound. I expect a minimal drop in sound quality (as compared to the DVD50) for DVD movies and music CDs. Does the SB Audigy fit the bill? Or is there something better. It doesn't seem like the Audiophile 24/96 offers an IR remote (which I want).

3. High quality video - This part seems to be a given since I will be upgrading from component video to VGA input. It is well documented that the AE100 will produce a much better picture with a VGA input.

The most critical element I think is finding a sound card that has a remote that can control the DVD player on the HTPC. I would then program those functions onto my learning AV remote. I think the SB Audigy can do this but I'm not sure about others? Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thanks.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Welcome to a great resource,