AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
2,117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hello:

I am a newbie here... 

I never listen to 2-channel stereo music (guess I am not a "purist") - as I like the enveloping sound of 5.1/7.1 surround sound...

I have been told that SACDs and DVD-Audio discs are MUCH better than just listening to "regular" CDs through a multi-channel 5.1/7.1 surround sound system.

But where do I start?

I realize I need to get a universal blu-ray player that plays SACDs and DVD-Audio discs...

But, do they still make SACDs and DVD-Audio discs?

Are there any new, or "better", audio formats?  Blu-ray...?

Thanks ahead of time for all of your help - it is GREATLY appreciated!

·
Registered
2,117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·

After some reading...

It appears that blu-ray audio is better than SACD and DVD-Audio...

And all you need is a regular blu-ray player...

Correct?

·
Registered
4,081 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTVAV  /t/1519971/new-to-multi-channel-music-where-to-start/0_50#post_24413146

After some reading...

Actually, they can all offer the capability of sounding as good as each other. There is no clear winner!

·
Registered
673 Posts
There are still some sacd's and dvd-a's being produced, though a small amount. The ones produced during surround music's heyday are still available- some can still be bought new, some used; some are reasonably priced, some are very expensive.

Blu-ray audio has some titles and more are coming, though whether that format takes off remains to be seen. They have no sonic advantage over sacd/dvd-a. If you really want to get into surround, you need a universal player, as currently the majority of surround available is in sacd and dvd-a format.

Some resources: