AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I found this forum about a month ago after I convinced my wife we should get a HT. Trust me, that now seems to have been the easy part! I'm overwhelmed by the complexity of designing a complete HT and also by the knowlege displayed by the members of this community. I am new to it all and am asking for some help.

Starting from scratch, this project will be the beginning of a larger remodelling effort involving our basement and main living level. Honestly though, the HT is the only part of it that has my full attention! The HT will use part of the basement in a space measuring 11x22x8. Three walls and the celiling are finished. The wall not finished is one of the 22' lengths. Two of the finished walls abut the foundation of the house, the other 11' wall abuts a bathroom and a small closet. There is one vent midway down the 22' wall and another along on of the 11' walls. There is no return vent or windows.

Although I haven't decided on equipment spcifics yet, I will probably go with a DLP HD2 pj and a 90-100" screen of unknown make or type. I'd like two rows of seating. This room will be dedicated to viewing movies and some sports.

I don't have a set budget, but it's certainly not unlimited. So I'd like to know what are the most cost effective treatments I should employ to ensure good accoustics and video quality. Unlike many of you here, I absolutely suck at building things myself, so I will be hiring someone to do much of the work with me helping them.

I guess what I'm hoping to hear is what all good HT designs have in common, and some "whatever you do don't forget about x, y, and z" types of comments. Thanks in advance!

John

·
Registered
418 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ethan,