AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all I saw this posted on the newsgroups and thought that it should be posted here. I am curious as to the responses since like this user I also am curious about the Panasonic DMR-HS2. So here it is......

First off hello to all. I am new to this but I have been recently thinking

about buying a dvd recorder. I think I have narrowed it down to the

Panasonic DMR-E30 or the DMR-HS2. More than likely I will go with the HS2

for the 40GB harddrive. Questions I have are:

Which mode or speed is best for archiving vhs tapes?

I have at the very least maybe over 200 vhs tapes that I would like to get

rid of and put all on dvd. Some of the movies on vhs are very old. As far

back as even 1979 or 1980 on up. Now most of my tapes have movies on them

that were recorded with SLP which is the slowest mode on a VCR. To my eye

this mode was not bad. Nevertheless since they are already what we would

call poor quality. Would it make sense to copy these tapes to dvd with a

modebetter than the 6 hour mode offered by the Panasonic dvd recorders? I

mean would it really change the video and make it better to look at?

I would also like to hear from anyone who has purchased the Panasonic dvd

recorders and find out how they like the machine and if anyone out there is

trying to do the same thing as me when it comes to archiving all these many

vhs tapes.

In closing I would like to say thanks and as a newbie these groups have been

very helpful. Please forgive the crossposting but I really wanted to get as

many responses as possible.

Thanks, BGV

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
I too have old vcr tapes of my kids from birth. Can I at least get the same

PQ as the svhs? I would love to hear from some one who has done this with old tapes and would be honest about the result.

·
Registered
108 Posts