AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
853 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We've just ordered a HDTV, primarily to watch DVDs in widescreen at a higher resolution. I don't watch a lot of TV, don't currently subscribe to cable/satellite, and don't have a PVR. But once we have the HDTV I'd like to see major sporting events in HDTV (eg., superbowl, march madness, nba playoffs, world series, olympics, world cup). So now I have to decide where we're going to get our HD signal: off-the-air, cable, or satellite (directtv, dish, or voom)?

I've been shopping around and reading the posts on avsforum and have come up with the following simplified decision guide that other newbies might find helpful. The guide is completely second hand, based entirely on the opinions of others, since I have no direct experience in these matters. Our local cable company is Comcast. I priced all the premium programming packages to include all major sporting events along with maximum olympics coverage (nbc, msnbc, and bravo) in hdtv.

1. Content. Before choosing a provider, sign up for a free account at titantv.com and see how much HD content each provider really has. It's shocking how little HD programming is available anywhere! For example, on a recent Saturday night Comcast only had 2 HD shows, both movies on premium channels, while local channels (ABC, CBS, NBC, and PBS) all had HD programming available for free OTA. Even HD specialty channels like ESPNHD, HBOHD, SHOHD, and StarZHD don't have that much HD programming. That being said, if you want local channels in hdtv, your only choices are cable (if your provider has local channels) and OTA (if you can get the signal). Buyer beware: none of the satellite providers currently offers local channels in hdtv! Some prominent sporting events (eg., olympics, world cup) are not available on local channels, so you'll need to get cable or satellite if you want that content.