AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The computer sees the HDTV as a plug n play monitor only gives the usable resolution of 640X480. If I take the check out of the box in the monitor properties that hides the resolution that the monitor cannot handle I can get it to 848X480, but then the screen rolls like an old style tv (vertical hold, I believe)


If I go into powerstrip I can create my own monitor driver, it will allow higher resolutions but the screen bugs out with purple streaks.....maybe the timings aren't set correctly???


I'm starting to think that spending $40 on the dvi cable wasn't worth it....

I'm trying to get at least 540p, but would prefer 720p


Any clues? :confused:


ps interesting sidenote, the toshiba menu changes from DVI to DVI VGA when the screen kicks on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Has anyone successfully gotten this config to work without using the vga converter?


Any powerstrip pro advice?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've done some searching also but who are these people that have it working at 540p??? I can only get 640X480. I have found these timings to use in powerstrip, and get my video drivers updated, Anyone else have any ideas? I know ati is better but Nvidia can't suck that bad, can it?


640x480 480p timing

640x480=640,128,112,64,480,21,1,61,31890,2054


960x540 540p timing

960x540=960,88,80,88,540,5,1,17,41164,2048


848x480 540p timing

848x480=848,96,80,72,480,19,6,58,37047,2048


1920x1080 1080i timing, I get desktop but no overlay

1920x1080=1920,184,184,168,1080,27,1,17,82890,9


1280x1024 1080i timing, I get desktop but no overlay

1280x1024=1280,144,128,112,1024,39,1,61,56160,9
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
No luck, bump
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Got it to run 740 X 480 this weekend and all of the rest of the resolutions rolled. Am I better off just buying a ati 7500 or 8500 or spend the money on a vga to component converter?
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top