Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie and I currently have the following setup :

JVC XV-SA72 p.scan component output to AE-100 to watch DVD.

PS2 s-video out to AE-100 for game play.

Those are the 2 main tasks I usually do.

So, if I add a iScan Pro, will the visual drastically improve?

$629 for a iScan Pro is quite expensive for me, so if the visual will just be 10-20% improve, I think I will live with what I have now.

What about the keydigital transcoder, it's cheaper. Will it do the same job?

·
Registered
5,132 Posts
Forget it.

Better to spend $200-300 on a progressive component to RGB transcoder (Audio Authority or Key Digital) to improve your DVD image by 20% than Iscan Pro. Iscan Pro offers component input and allow image controls (scaling and color manipulation), but still requires an interlace signal to work. Iscan won't improve your DVD much as it merely takes an interlaced signals and doubles it to progressive which you already have. It may improve your PS2 by 10-20% although PS2 has graphics limitation (Xbox and Gamecube are much better). Even Dreamcast 's $15 VGA box will look better than PS2 on PJ as it also doubles the scan signals. AE100 has fairly decent video processor so if you're happy with image then don't bother.

Viewsonic VB50HRTV with IR remote for $99 has 848X480 resolution mode whcih matches AE100 precisely, and will act as a cheap doubler/scaler/TV tuner for your TV, VHS, and PS2. It has Svideo, composite, and VGA input (for PC passthrough). Iscan does not scale only doubles the signals so your AE100 still has to scale 720X480 (DVD) or 640X480 (PS2) to 856X480 (AE100 native resolution).

The reason that a Component->VGA transcoder will improve AE100 is it allows you to use the AE100's wide-VGA mode which is better than its normal component mode (better sharpness due to better scaling). Even here I doubt that the improvement is over 20%.