AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to projectors, etc, but I've decided to purchase on. I am on a tight budget (2200-2300), but since I'll be moving up from a 27" TV, even the budget models are a huge improvement.

I have researched the Sanyo PLC-SW10, which has been mentioned on this forum. It says it's HDTV compatible; should I be concerned that the XGA is "compressed", or does that matter? Should I be concerned that 700 lumens is low, or does that matter (the room is essentially pitch black as it is).

Will I likely need to get a line doubler for viewing?

Any other options any of you know about would be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,806 Posts
I used to own a Sanyo SU07 which I assume is pretty simialr from the specs. You probably won't need a doubler as the internal scaler was very good. I wouldn't worry about the XGA thing. HDTV will not be shown at anything close to full resolution, but most projectors don't anyway.

700 should be fine in pi0tch blackness.

Steve

·
Registered
93 Posts
Steve,

Yo Steve! How many projectors do you currently own? I know you have a PG-M10S, a VT440, etc.

Just curious...

Tnx - Sonny B.

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the responses.

If projectors don't show at close to HDTV quality, should I just wait until HDTV's come down in price? Is it a tradeoff between screen size and picture quality?

Also, if I get a projector, is a ceiling mount possible on a pitched (cathedral) ceiling?

Sorry for the basic questions.

·
Registered
297 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
OK, I did some more reading, and another suggestion is the

Mitsubishi SA51. The Mitsubishi has a built-in line doubler, but runs a couple of hundred dollars more. Also, one reviewer claimed that that the Mitsubishi has better focus, but the colors on the Sanyo are better.