AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am moving into a new home and taking the plunge with HDTV SAT receiver. My installer is really pushing the RCA but I have my doubts. I think its because he can get the RCA easier. He is installing by audio distribution system also.

When I questioned him about the Sony, he said they had reliability problems. I have read some of the other threads about the fan noise, etc. I am seriouly considering the Mits or Panasonic. I will be getting one HDTV receiver and 3 regular for other locations in the house. Also, where is the best place to purchase if my installer decides he doesn't want to participate.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I am no expert but just purchased the Toshiba DST-3000 to use with my Toshiba 40H80 and it works flawlessy. I have only had it a couple of weeks but have not experienced any problems. If you shop aroud you should be able to find one for 600.00. In my area, Oakland, CA I am able to receive all my digital locals without a hitch. Good signal strength, no dropouts, perfect as far as I can tell. The tosh runs warm so just keep it on the top shelf of your rack if possible. No fan noise here, silent operation.

The best advice I have seen on the matter is go with the model that matches your set if possible (ie same manufacturer) That was the advice given by a home theater journalist.

·
Registered
734 Posts
The RCA box was the first box on the market and was the only box for over a year. The boxes made by Mitsubishi, Toshiba, Hughes, Panasonic and Sony are 2nd and 3rd generation boxes and are considered superior to the RCA by every review I've seen.

A lot of people have bought it because in addition to being the only one available initially, it's also the cheapest.