AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently purchased a BG800 and I've been reading the post for a week now. The more I read the more confused I get. Just when I think I understand, I read another post and WHAM! now which is the best way that one or this one. Basically I'm very new to HT but I'm eager to learn and start. I have an HT area of 16'x22'7" with 8' ceiling. Plan to do a ceiling mount. I'm very confused on the subject of aspect ratio, screen size, and gain for my BG800. I have control of ambient light. I plan to view DVDs and computer games(limited)on my projector. I would like to use a DIY wall mounted screen, size 52x92 16:9 with Blackout material (Haven't figured out what blackout material is yet, still reading) Will this work with the BG800? There is a very good post on how to make this screen and this is the driving factor behind my decision. Plan to buy a commercial grade screen once my funds regroup from the projector purchase.

Anyone from the Pensacola Fl area doing HTs?

Thanks for any suggestion!

Andre

Semper Fi

·
Registered
506 Posts
I used a homemade screen with my BG800 until just this week. The blackout material can be purchased at stores that sell cloth by the yard (but call ahead first). If I remember right, the width is 54 inches so that is your maximum vertical measurement, and you determine the length which will be the width of your completed screen. I just attached mine to a long dowell and hung it from hooks in the ceiling.

One note of caution with the BG800-if you adjust the Schlemplug (?) corner focus-don't over do it! I shorted out my RGB board on the blue tube and had to buy a replacement from Curt Palme who sells and repairs projectors.