AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While I'm not new to building PCs I am a complete newbie to HTPC and audio systems in general. I've spent hours reading various threads in this and other forums and remain confused as to what purchasing decision I should make. I've read the mini-FAQ and the article about the inexpensive HTPC being able to match a $10,000 DVD player in terms of quality. However, I'm not sure rather this article is still current or not.

So before I take the plunge my question is, are HTPCs better or comparable to similarly priced off the shelf blackboxes? Building an HTPC will probably cost around $700 if not more. Right now I am thinking that the HTPC is probably better.

My next question is, what parts should I get?

Video:

My primary concern is image quality on a TV. This is going to be a dedicated HTPC. I am thinking about getting an ATI AIW Radeon 9000 Pro. I saw that a lot of people in the forum have the 7500. Is this because it is cheaper with the same quality or is the 7500 in some way superior. Do the more expensive versions of Radeon better?

And what other TV tuner cards or video cards should I consider?

Sound:

My primary concern is again the quality of the sound produced. Is it going to be comparable or better than $2-300 black boxes? I have heard a lot of good things about the M-Audio Revolution in this forum and in Newegg. However I've also seen that alot of people opt for other sound cards, namely other M-Audio cards in this forum.

What sound card should I get?

Also, I read from the audio forums that it is a good idea to have a receiver as a preamp and then get another amplifier. However I am thinking that the HTPC will act as the DVD/CD players, the TV tuner and the receiver so all I need is a dedicated amplifier. Is this correct? If so what would you recommend I get for an amplifier? If not what else should I be getting?

Thanks in advance!!!

·