AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all -- I've been following (lurking) on the forum since I began construction of my home theater in Oct. I'm a student and after going crazy on it over the holiday break, it's nearly done. Thanks to everybody for all the great info -- hopefully I'll be able to contribute as well! In any event, to get to the topic of this post...

I stopped by to see a friend who works at a local theater and was able to hook me up with a dolby digital plaque; while I was there he also gave me about 200 large mylars and about 60 mini mylars. 2 questions:

1. I know there are a fair number of people who collect mylars -- are many willing to trade, or is ebay the main market? I have a few I'd like to get a hold of, and I'm willing to part with almost all of the ones I have, but I would just as soon trade with AVS people instead of putting them on ebay. Then again, the ones I want are probably the same ones everybody wants. :rolleyes:

2. I'm planning on building a lightbox as others here on the forum have done. I was also thinking, though, of keeping my collection to mostly the mini-mylars, and making a big "now showing" display with a bunch of my favorite mini's. Has anyone ever made this type of lightbox and/or would advise against it? Seems like with enough space, it would be a great way to show off your mylar collection.

Any thoughts!

Thanks!

Soapy

·
Registered
1,936 Posts
Soapy,

We need to talk!

I am in Minnesota too and I am very interested in buying/trading mylars.

Also, is there anyway you can get me a dolby digital plaque from the theater? I am so jealous of all the stuff you got. I ALWAYS wanted a friend at a local theater. No fair!

Seriously, PM me we need to hook up.

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #4