AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We're starting the planning stage for a major renovation (combining apartments) and I want to do it (whatever "it" is) right.

I'm not even ready to post my big "help me design my system" question.

For now, a real newbie question:

I'd like to have a centralized rack of sources (cable boxes, roku, Sonos Connect, xbox, etc.) with video and audio distributed throughout and control everything via an i-device.

I've read quite a lot of posts, and I come from a computer background, but I've got no experience with home theatre design or equipment.

If I use a Global Cache GC100 on the rack, then I understand the IR outputs can control the devices on the rack (cable boxes, AV receiver, etc.).

I assume them that I would wire coax from the rack to the TV locations (and speaker wire to the speaker locations).

But would I need to get IR signals to the TVs? Maybe to control volume, or source choices on the TV (unlikely).

Am I on the right track?

Thanks,

Joe

·
Registered
10,873 Posts
Yes, IR control of the TV is the most difficult step, if you want to go the "app" route. You'll need to route an IR wire (cat5 or other) from your GC-100 to the TV, then apply an emitter there. Alternatively, an IR blaster can be put in line-of-sight of the TV - which will probably require some trial-and-error. You can also choose a TV that has RS232 control to get a more reliable solution, but those are few-and-far-between.