AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, please forgive my ignorance, I'm new to HD camcorders and have just bought a second hand Canon HV30. I wanted to just ask a few questions to anyone willing to help a complete amateur!

Anyway, firstly, I'm missing a few pieces of the whole pack because it was second hand. I apparently need a USB cable and the remote control, but I can't find anywhere on the internet that talks about compatibility of these items.

What USB cable do I need? And also, is it possible to buy a remote for the camcorder? Is there a specific one or is there just a generic canon remote?

Secondly, I am quite confused by the whole HDV mini-DV thing. What mini-dv's do I need to record in High definition? Do they have to be Canon brand or can I use Sony HDVs?

Oh and I read that some people just use these Digital DVCs instead of the HDVs... but can these record in HD? Are they just as good?

And finally, what's the best editing program? And how much is the average cost?

Thanks so much for your help, most of these questions are probably really stupid but please don't beat me up about it!

Cheers

·
Registered
227 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzhill /forum/post/18151775

Secondly, I am quite confused by the whole HDV mini-DV thing. What mini-dv's do I need to record in High definition? Do they have to be Canon brand or can I use Sony HDVs?

I do not own an HV30, so I cannot comment on the first question, (though i would imagine it's probably just a mini-usb port on there) but I can answer the question about tapes.

The tapes can be any brand (I prefer the panasonic tapes myself), and any good Mini-DV tape will work. Some tapes are higher quality, but do not be fooled into thinking that you need to buy the "HDV" tapes, as they are most likely just the same tape, rebranded with a higher pricetag.

For a good place to get more information specifically on the HV30 check out