Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have a few initial questions as I delve into the world of digital projectors - i am thinking of buying one based on their size and convenience.

The first question regards quality. I am basically a home theater newbie, and I know that when i walk into a electronics store and see HDTV or a DVD playing on one of the new plasma displays I am totally blown away - I mean, I am literally stunned by the quality of the picture I see. On the other hand, I have been to many very very good movie theaters to see movies in current release, and although i guess the picture is good, it doesn't seem like anything special to me in terms of clarity and crispness - really it is nothing like what I am seeing on these new plasma displays.

So, my question is, where does a DLP projector (a good one - maybe $2500 range) showing HDTV/DVD fall in this range of quality I have described ? Will it simply look like the screen looks when I go to the movies (which is good, but again, it doesn't stun me like these new HDTV plasmas do) or is the quality somewhere between the two examples I provided ?

A few other misc. questions:

Q1: If HDTV is 1920x1080, why do a lot of the projectors listed in the "hot list" posted in this forum have very low resolutions - like 800x600, 1024x768, 858x480, etc. ? Are there any 1920x1080 projectors in existence ? Is it misguided of me to be trying to buy a UXGA or SXGA projector in an attempt to get the highest resolution possible ?

Q2: Should I be paying special attention to find a projector with a native HDTV resolution ? What if I don't get one ?

Q3: A big problem with LCD displays when using them for video games or

showing a movie with fast action (especially panning) is that the LCD screen can't keep up with the fast motion and it blurs ... does a DLP projector have the same problems with resonse time ?