AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I just bought the Onkyo HT 780S, and I am replacing the speaker wire there with 16 gauge wire. I'm new to all of this, so my question is this: Once I strip the plastic off of the 16 gauge wire, should I twist all of the small copper wires together before putting it into the back of the speakers and the receiver, or is that something that should not be done? Also, how tight does the wire have to be to connect to the receiver using the knobs that you twist? Any thoughts here would be great! Thanks!

·
Registered
2,723 Posts
What Speakers are you using and how long are the runs from the receiver. 16 is ok for shorter runs, but I use 12 gauge for everything, that is just me... Anyway, yes if your using bare wire to terminals I always twist the ends clockwise so the strands are all togethor. Also, you want to tighten up the connection fairly snug, but don't take a visegrip to it or impact gun :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the quick reply! I figured that's what you do, but I wanted to be sure in case I was wrong and turned it on and something blew on me :) I wasn't sure if I should use the pins that came with the speaker wire somewhere, but I can't see where those would be used.

It's kind of tricky to keep all of the little wires together sometimes when attaching them to the knobs on the back of the receiver. I guess twisting them together tighter would solve a lot of that.

Also, my runs range from ~5 ft. to ~25 ft.

·
Registered
2,723 Posts