Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
750 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally new to the HDTV world.

I'm asking things like is it time to buy or time to wait? Should I use cable or satelite or? If I buy, what brand for HDTV set..

along with new surround sound....

speakers....

along with what kinda cable options or

satelite choices???

If there are FAQs too that I can read, lemme know!

·
Registered
393 Posts
Being fairly new to the HDTV world myself (don't even have HDTV equipment yet), I think it takes a little bit of time to get "acquainted" with the HDTV world. Every question that you have asked is personal opinion. For example, I feel (and from what I have read) that the Toshiba 65HX81 is equivalent to the Sony KDP-65XBR2, though the Sony has Firewire ports and is $2000 more. Is the Firewire ports worth $2000? Personal opinion. These questions also depend on your budget, location, etc. If your cable company does not offer HDTV, I would go with satellite. But which one? DirecTV has HBO-HD and HDNET and a good amount of sports choices, while Dish has HBO-HD, SHO-HD, and offers more movie choices. So again, personal opinion. If you are looking for a particular model of something I recommend searching for it and seeing what type of comments, etc. it got. I am not an expert at speakers, but those, especially, are personal opinion. I have heard of people liking a $3500 set over a $10000 set. This site is an excellent tool to use when investing in an HDTV and staying up to date. As I keep researching for my perfect Home Theater, more questions arise. Some of which I can find by searching this site, the internet, the manufacturer's site, and if you still have a question ask it here. Many people are willing to help. I hope this answers many of your questions and leads to answering many more. Have fun!

HDCblGuy

·
Registered
864 Posts