AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. Utter newbie here working on my 3rd or 4th post. Here's the deal:

I'm about to close on my first home and decided I just can't move in without ditching the old CRT TV and Aiwa shelf stereo for something better. However because I just bought a home I'm tapped out for funds. I'm purchasing a 42" plasma, an OPPO DVD player, and will have about $150 left over for audio. Is there anything out there that will give me some decent sound for that money? I'm not an audiophile by any means, and considering what I've been watching and listening to for the last 10 years, just about anything will be a step up. So, that said, here's some more info on my configuration.

TV Specs:

Inputs:

S-Video

Audio

HDMI In

Composite Video In

Analog Audio Input (for HDMI)

Component (YPbPr/YCbCr)

Outputs:

Composite

Digital Audio Out

I'll be watching TV in a 14 x 16 room with the TV on the long wall and the couch about 8-10 feet away. The ceilings are cathedral and the floors tile. Acoustics will be ugly, but again, I'm no audiophile. The one thing I'd really like is something with nice low-end.

Is there anything that fits this bill that's somewhere near the $150 price range?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
9,938 Posts
You might consider a good receiver and a pair of speakers to start, and add the others when you get more funds.

Otherwise, refurbed 590 is probably your best bet.

·
Registered
6,468 Posts
Both the 590 and 790 are the imo the best choices at their price point. The 790 gives more digital inputs, somewhat better speakers and a powered sub.

The 590 can be found at your budget $150 shipped and the 790 will run you around $330 shipped refurb closer to $200 and 400 if you want to go new.

·
Registered
1,821 Posts