AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting a thread here and I really regret it for not finding this site when I was in the market for home theatre speakers.

Anyway, I currently have Bose Acoustimass 15 (I really should have researched before buying) but I don't like its sound quality too much. Therefore I would like to sell this set and upgrade to something better for myself. (Also mind that I don't want to hear people saying "WHY BOSE?" anymore)

With an assumption that I can sell this set for around $700? I am looking for something in the $1000 range. Would there be anything in this range that can be good for my use? I currently have my PS3 connected to my received via optical cable and thats how I watch/play games.

Thank you very much in advance.

Don

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Quick question. I'm also interested in getting a floor speakers in my room and I was thinking of C-300s. How do they sound? I want something in the audiophile range so Im wondering if C-300's are up to par.

·
Registered
3,007 Posts
There is much you can buy in the $1k range, but only your ears will tell you what you like. For your typical store brands, I like Monitor Audio, PSB, and RBH. For internet direct, checkout av123, Ascend, Axiom, and Aperion. Have you heard speakers at some point that you liked? What did you like about them? That'll help point to brands that might fit your taste.

·
Registered
472 Posts
Search here for the plethora of threads devoted to $1K and below speakers. Then, as rnatalli said, only your ears can tell you what you like. Listen to as much as you can. Many IDs offer no- or low-cost trials of their gear so you can listen in your home.

There will be many opinions as to what is "audiophile range" but I'd gather that $1k for a complete set would not really begin to approach it...especially if you need a sub.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·