AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm moving into a new house and am designing my basement for my HT room. I have some $$ to spend from the sale of the house and want to do it right. But I wanna stay around 5-6k for my speakers and amp.

The room runs about 24 x 20. I'd like to get new speakers and I'm looking at Axiom's. They have a package that has rear surrounds (3) that are

6 ohms / 400 watts. Front mains are 8 ohm / 200 watts, and a 6 ohm / 400 watt center.

If I get a 3 channel amp to run my back surrounds. Will my Sony STR2ESDA (?) Receiver 6.1 take care of my main fronts and center channel?

I'm new at this but eager to learn from some one who knows whats their talking about.

Thanks for the knowledge in advance.

PB

·
Registered
3,782 Posts
PB,

Two things:

First, IMO your room is on the cusp of mid to large size. You will likely want all the power you can manage to fill it with quality sound, especially if your prime seating position has a good setback from the front stage. I don't know the sensitivity of the Axioms in question but the front L-R being 8 Ohms will help somewhat. The 6 Ohm draw on the rest of the package including the center should not cause too much of a power burden, especially if the overall system sensitivity is in the 90-99dB range. Anything in the high 80's will be harder to drive cleanly.

Second, the usual method of utilizing external amping is to power the frontstage as fully as possible for better 2 channel enjoyment and also for HT as the front three channels are usually more critical and demanding. Even though the front L-R in your projected speaker package are the easiest to drive, I would still reverse your proposition and use any external amp for the front and let the 2ES handle the rest. Go for at least a 3 channel amp with as close to double the power rating of the 2ES as you can afford.

·
Registered
645 Posts