AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this so don't beat me up too bad :) I'm sure this will be question overload, but I learn quickly. So, I recently went out and bought some new speakers to use with my receiver to put in my family room. My old receiver decided to die on me. I have a few questions on the setup and speaker placement. Hopefully someone will be familiar with the receiver to help me be more specific. I've been using my new (about a year old) receiver with old Samsung speakers. I was in the store the other day, and a massive sale convinced me to buy some new speakers, and I got the free Klipsch sub. Too good to pass up. I do know how to run the Audyssey setup. Here's my equipment.

RECIEVER
Denon - AVR-X1100W

SPEAKERS
2 Klipsch R-26F (Floorstand)
1 Klipsch R-25C (Center)
2 Klipsch R-14M (Monitor)

SUBS
1 Klipsch R-10SW
1 Def Tech ProSub 800

OTHER (cheap older speakers)
5 Samsung PS-AR720S

Basically, to start, I have it hooked up right now as a 5.2. Pretty much have it set up as most basic as I can. There's a couple switches on the back of the Klipsch Sub, not sure what I need to have them set on. Also a knob on back of Def Tech that I'm not sure what to have it set on.

Next, I notice on the back of the Def Tech sub there are ways to route speakers through it. Is there a need for me to do this with my current setup, and what is this even for?

There are 2 subwoofer outputs, which I use both of. Is there any particular order I need to hook the subs up in?

Finally (as far as I can think at the moment), since I have plenty of extra speakers, I was going to go on and hook up two of the cheaper Samsung speakers to complete the 7.2 setup. Since the Klipsch are obviously nicer than the cheap ones, should I set them up using the surround, or surround back? Not really sure which one uses more sound, or what the Klipsch speakers would be best for.